Too many people overvalue what they are not and undervalue what they are. ~Malcolm S. Forbes

 

I am a humble person by nature, too humble to accept any compliment, instead thinking that people just flatter. I have always esteemed other to be better than me. But recently, I realized that just as to stay inclined to being down-to-earth and not to bring slightest arrogance in me, I had actually dug myself deep down the earth and that I had actually killed and buried my self esteem deep under the ground. In a fear that if I take into account what good people say about me, arrogance would overcome me so I never believed in their acknowledgments but if someone would talk bad about me, I would always believe it to be true. All these years of my life I had been underestimating myself, not in terms of looks (I actually never cared much of my looks) but of what I deserved and what I am worthy of.  

Then I happened to meet a guy of 30 around, who turned me upside down entirely. He had so much egotism that he couldn’t let go off his ego and all he could do was to make me feel bad about myself, miserable and worth nothing. All what he would tell me is that people are jealous of him, of what he is and what he has. And it was so stupid of me to actually believe him. I don’t know from where it came in my blown up mind to ponder why people are jealous of him so I jotted down these points any person could be rated for to be proud of or for his friends to get jealous of:

1.       Outer Looks                                                            

2.       Highly Educated

3.       Good job

4.       Money

5.       Property

6.       Inner looks ( I mean attitude, humor)

7.       Social circle

8.       Family

I would not go into the details of these points but to be precise, this guy had none of these points except for the exception of being from an educated family. He, himself had nothing extra-ordinary in him to show off attitude and be arrogant of. So at the end of the day, all he could beg is a 2 or maybe 3 on a scale of 10 and this has come out as a general rate from others who know him.

That is so insane and shocking to see that such people also exist around who own nothing, have nothing but still think of themselves on cloud nine for being dependent on their father’s money, who being almost a man of 30, still grow on their father’s finances and who are not capable of earning a decent amount of living if they gets fired from their dad’s company.

However, I on the other hand, being opposite to him, could never see the countless blessings of God. He made me a highly educated woman with 18 years of education. He gave me a decent professional job. I am not rich myself though and I, personally or in papers don’t even own an inch on earth, but I do have the decency to meet and greet people with courtesy and gratitude and be always available to help them. I don’t have a vast social circle, but the company I have doesn’t come under the category of “BAD BOYS” to imply bad about me. Ad not to brag about my looks, if I am not MISS UNIVERSE, than at least I am attractive enough to cast a spell on few around me if not all J ( A comment from people I always thought were false).

This is the first time ever in my life that I have talked good about me. After all this deep analysis of this guy, I have realized a lot of things, I have actually started feeling high about me, that I deserve better. My first right is on myself, to feel good about myself. I can feel the revolution in me, not underestimated, not overestimated but in the middle.

Sometimes, even people we don’t like can give us a great lesson to learn. I never wondered, that my meeting with high level of arrogance would show me the true meaning of humility and would reveal the real me. Never could I imagine that my miserable thoughts for myself would ever leave my dumb head. I hope those horrendous thoughts would never come back to me again ever because I like the new me.

A few words of wisdom by various people I liked:                                                                                                          

Humility does not mean thinking less of yourself than of other people, nor does it mean having a low opinion of your own gifts.  It means freedom from thinking about yourself at all.  ~William Temple

What kills a skunk is the publicity it gives itself.  ~Abraham Lincoln

Humility is to make a right estimate of one’s self.  ~Charles Haddon Spurgeon

“You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.”

“When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom”

 “Accept everything about yourself–I mean everything. You are you and that is the beginning and the end–no apologies, no regrets.”

“Pride makes us artificial and humility makes us real”

One Reply to “Too many people overvalue what they are not and undervalue what they are. ~Malcolm S. Forbes”

Leave a Reply

